abstract road

DUI Penalties

Florida's DUI Penalties

Charged with DUI in Brevard County?

Florida state laws regarding driving under the influence (DUI) and its penalties vary depending on whether it is a first offense or a repeat offense. Drunk driving is extremely dangerous, and law enforcement does their best to prevent people from committing the offense in the first place, let alone multiple times. Even so, wrongful arrests and charges are made regularly and deserve to be fought with the aggressive representation of a Brevard County DUI attorney from Parks & Braxton, PA. Our firm has defended clients facing the most severe of DUI charges and has won thousands cases.

Penalties for DUI Offenses in Florida

First Offense:

  • Misdemeanor
  • Maximum fine of $1,000
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • License suspension for 180 days to 1 year
  • 10-day vehicle impoundment
  • Up to 50 hours of community service

Second Offense:

  • Misdemeanor
  • Maximum fine of $2,000
  • Up to 9 months in jail
  • License suspension for 180 days to 1 year (or 5 years if committed within 5 years of a prior offense)
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment

Third Offense:

  • Misdemeanor*
  • $2,000-$5,000 fine
  • 30 days to 1 year in jail
  • Minimum license suspension of 10 years
  • 90-day vehicle impoundment

Fourth Offense:

  • Felony DUI
  • Fine of $2,000-$5,000
  • Up to 5 years in state prison
  • Permanent driver's license revocation

*Note: A third offense can also be a felony if committed within 10 years of a first offense

Contact a DUI Defense Attorney Today

As Brevard County's premier DUI defense firm with an impressive track record for success, both in the past and in recent court wins, we are the most beneficial choice for your DUI defense. Contact our offices today if you've been arrested for DUI, DUI with injury, or an out-of-state DUI in Brevard County, Daytona, or Volusia County. An aggressive lawyer from our firm will counsel and represent you, fighting tirelessly for the results you need.

Obtain Immediate Legal Help

To save your license, you must act within 10 days. Get in touch with our firm by calling 321.593.0222, or fill out the form here.

Get in Touch Now